4 Reasons to Stay on Facebook (at least a little bit)

Time sink, privacy issues, advertising fodder, overabundance of screentime, exhaustion with political causes in your feed: there are many reasons to quit Facebook, but is it practical to do it completely?

This is a question I’ve been wrestling with over the past few months, and I’m sure there are people reading this who have been doing the same thing. Personally, I’ve come to the conclusion that while there are many reasons to leave, there are many reasons to stay on facebook, too.

  1. It’s a good way to stay in touch with friends you don’t see often, and to keep passive tabs on them–as long as that’s not all you do.
    Personally, my extrovert side loves catching up with people I haven’t seen in ages, but my introvert side cringes at the thought of trying to arrange twenty-five meetings within two weeks of notifying everybody I’ve deleted my Facebook account.
  2. Facebook is also a great way to contact people you vaguely know and haven’t seen in a while. For me, this is extremely handy, especially if I end up working in some kind of journalistic capacity and need to contact somebody I met that one time for a story. Also a great research tool so that when I talk to them about this story, I can actually engage in some kind of conversation with them on a topic I now know will interest them.
  3. It’s also a good way to address a group of friends en masse–tell them you’ll be out of town, or you’re still sick, or the old ‘I’ve lost my phone so please message me on fb instead’, or what have you. Not to mention it’s FANTASTIC for coordinating events. Email often just doesn’t cut it.
  4. Finally, if you’re just starting out in a working life in this day and age, it’s pretty hard not to have Facebook. It still comes in handy in those random little ways you couldn’t list, but would totally miss if they were gone.

Facebook deletion is possible but not always desirable, and I’d rather take the desirable option. Obviously the ultimate desirable option would be that we weren’t so dependent on just one company for our social networking, but that requires a complete change in… just… everything. But failing that, I want to keep my Facebook account.

However, I don’t want to spend a lot of time on there either. My next post will be about the ways I plan to reduce my time on Facebook by reducing my dependency on Facebook. Hopefully my attempts will help other people navigate their way through the quagmire that is digital decluttering.

2 thoughts on “4 Reasons to Stay on Facebook (at least a little bit)

  1. Pingback: How to Ditch Facebook (Kinda-Sorta) | strangesights

  2. Pingback: How to Ditch Facebook (Kinda-Sorta) | strangesights

Leave a Reply

